“I’m Uncomfortable Too…” the Professor Says

Try Spinning Counterclockwise

A couple of days ago, a professor thought he was being cool by introducing role-play into his class, maybe in the tradition of the horrifying Stanford Prisoner Experiment or Jane Elliot’s Blue-Eyed/Brown-Eyed Experiment (that’s not saying those events don’t have their own set of issues, but that’s another story). But he was wrong.

I know I’m not going to be the last to comment on this, and I know what I’m about to say will be said by many, or have already been said by many (probably people with much more knowledge and understanding of the subject), and yet… here I am.

To start, I’m going to say that being uncomfortable in the classroom is not necessarily a bad thing, but there are ways to make your students uncomfortable without being racist (or sexist, or some type of -phobic), intentionally or not, and without hurting them. The main aim…

View original post 964 more words

