My Multi-Cultural Childhood Could be the Answer to Racism & Xenophobia

our little blue rock

Recently, I began wondering why I have always had an innate interest in cultures that are not my own, why I’ve been driven constantly to put myself out of my comfort zone, why I am forever bewildered and stupefied by those who are not like me. Furthermore, why do others not share my interest instead meeting other cultures with racism and xenophobia?

I hadn’t taken seriously the fact that I had grown up with many different cultures, but then I began realizing I had all kinds of culture sprinkled into my life, and I couldn’t imagine my upbringing without them. Perhaps the answer to xenophobia, the answer to prejudice, the answer to racism is subjecting children to other cultures to enrich their lives and broaden their perspectives early on. The friends I’ve had over the years have taught me to open my mind and stay interested in people I am different…

View original post 794 more words

