What the hell is white fragility anyway?

Working on Woking.

A friend of mine asked me this question the other day, so let’s tackle that shit!

To make sure I’m fully and accurately answering the question, I’ll share some links at the end of this post from people who are more knowledgable and have done more work on this specific topic than I have. In fact, the definition that I identify with most is from one of the articles you’ll find at the end of this post: White fragility is what happens when a white person prioritizes how it feels to be called racist over how a person of color might feel experiencing racism.

Before I share links from actual experts and because this is a blog about my own process of education and evolution, I will share with you my personal understanding of what white fragility means.

First of all, the emotional responses that lead to an expression of white fragility…

View original post 1,543 more words

